Project: Tornado 2015

PT_BLOG_684x132

The premise is simple! Each school day for an entire month, our weather team will speak to children about the power of severe weather. We have put all of the important information into a 45-50 minute presentation that suits a normal class schedule. It is our hope that the information is shared with family and friends.

The goal is to get as many people prepared for severe weather season as possible. June is prime-time for severe weather in Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin. Project: Tornado allows us to get the right information to the most students. By teaching children in grades 2 through 7, the information is received and shared throughout the household. So while we may speak to 5,000 students, we know it is shared to entire families making that number multiply by several times.

2015 PROJECT: TORNADO SCHEDULE

Monday April 27  9:00 AM: Conklin Elementary, Rockford, 66 students
Tuesday April 28  9:00 AM: Perry Elementary School, 160 students
Wednesday April 29  10:00 AM: Pecatonica Elementary, 130 students1:45 PM: Keith Country Day, Rockford, 70 students
Thursday April 30 9:00AM: Jefferson Elementary, 240 students1:45PM: Immanuel Lutheran School, 140 students
Friday May 1 9:00 AM: Ellis Arts Academy, Rockford, 350 students
Monday May 4 10:00 AM: Lincoln-Douglas Elementary School, Freeport, 212 Students1:45 PM: Rockford Lutheran Academy, Rockford, 208 students
Tuesday May 5  10:00 AM: Thurgood Marshall School, Rockford, 120 to 240 students
Wednesday May 6  9:00 AM: Ralston Elementary, Machesney Park, 63 Students
Thursday May 7 9:00 AM: C. Henry Bloom, Rockford, 20 Students1:45 PM: Holy Family Catholic School, Rockford, 120 Students
Friday May 8  9:00 AM: West View Elementary School, Rockford, 200 students
Monday May 11  1:45 PM: Shirland School, Shirland, 120 Students
Tuesday May 12  1:45PM: Highland Grade School, 225 Students
Wednesday May 13  9:00 AM: Loves Park Elementary, 110 Students
Thursday May 14  1:00 PM: Lewis Lemon Elementary, Rockford, 175 Students
Friday May 15  12:00 PM: Nashold Elementary School, Rockford, 120 students
Monday May 18  10:00AM: Spring Creek Elementary, Rockford, 75 students
Tuesday May 19  9:00 AM: Barbour Language Academy, Rockford, 675 students
Wednesday May 20  9:00 AM: Swan Hillman, Rockford, 150 students
Thursday May 21  10:00 AM: St. Mary’s School, Dixon
Friday May 22  10:00 AM: Rolling Green School, Rockford

Thanks for being a part of Project: Tornado! If you have any questions, feel free to e-mail Alex Kirchner: akirchner@wrex.com

2014 Project: Tornado Schools

Concordia Lutheran School
St. Rita School
Brookview Elementary School
Nashold Elementary School
Spectrum Progressive School
St. Andrew School
Kishwaukee Elementary
Washington Academy
Lincoln Middle School
Rockford Christian School
Lincoln Elementary School
Kaneland Harter Middle School
Seth Whitman Elementary School
Empire Elementary School
Alpine Academy of Rockford
Centennial Elementary
St. Bridget School
Kinnikinnick School, Roscoe
Lena Winslow Elementary
Prairie Hill School
Lincoln Douglas Elementary
Lincoln Elementary, Dixon
White Swan School
St. Anne School, Dixon
Central Elementary
Maud Johnson Elementary
Galapagos Charter School
Share

Posted under Project: Tornado, safety, severe weather

This post was written by Alex Kirchner on March 10, 2010

Leave a Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

Comments

 

More Blog Post

Next Post: